home > Partners and Affiliates > ISMS Resident and Fellow Section

Governing Council

  • The Resident & Fellow Section (RFS) provides representation for residents and fellows in organized medicine. Members of the ISMS RFS are invited to attend governing council meetings; for information please contact ISMS RFS staff at 312-580-6497 at RFS@isms.org.

    Nominations are now open and being accepted for resident/fellow members to serve as the 2021-2022 officers on the Illinois State Medical Society Resident and Fellow Section (ISMS RFS) Governing Council.

    Responsibilities of Positions: Here is an overview of the responsibilities of these positions.

    Nominations Eligibility: You may nominate yourself or a fellow member. All nominators and nominees must be current members of the Illinois State Medical Society (nominees for resident member of the Illinois Delegation to the AMA must also be AMA members). If you are nominating someone else, you must obtain their permission before making the nomination.

    Nomination Materials: The nomination form must be completed and signed by the actual nominee and accompanied by a statement of interest and an abbreviated curriculum vitae

    Nomination Deadline: All nomination forms and accompanying materials must be received at the Illinois State Medical Society Resident and Fellow Section by 11:59 p.m. on Tuesday, March 2, 2021. They should be emailed to RFS@isms.org.

    Balloting: Elections will be held at the annual meeting of the Resident and Fellow Section on March 9, 2021. 

    If you have any questions, please call Evan Rotert, ISMS staff at 312-580-6497 or email evanrotert@isms.org.

    RFS Officer Position Descriptions

    RFS Officer Nomination Form

    Christiana Shoushtari, MD, MPH

    Aaron Kearney, MD

    Satyum Parikh, MD
    Vice Chair of Internal Affairs

    Kevin Volkema, DO
    Vice Chair of External Affairs

    Alexander (Alec) Harris, MD
    Resident Trustee

    Sofia (Sonj) Aronson, MD
    Resident Del to IL AMA Delegation

    Jordan Gavin, M.D.
    Immediate Past Chair

View Full Site View Mobile Site