home > Partners and Affiliates > ISMS Medical Student Section
MSS School Representatives

Nominations are now open and being accepted for student members to serve as the 2017-2018 school representatives on the Illinois State Medical Society Student Section (ISMS MSS) Governing Council and at the American Medical Association Medical Student Section assembly meetings (annual and interim).

Responsibilities of Position: Here is an overview of the responsibilities of these positions. Understanding the responsibilities of a school representative is vital to both those individuals seeking the position and those voting for a peer to represent them in organized medicine. School representatives must be able to attend both the annual and interim meetings of the AMA-MSS Assembly.

Nominations Eligibility: You may nominate yourself or a fellow student member. All nominators and nominees must be 1) actively enrolled at the school and 2) a current member of both the ISMS and AMA Medical Student Sections. If you are nominating someone else, you must obtain their permission before making the nomination.

Nomination Materials: The nomination form must be completed and signed by the actual nominee and accompanied by a statement of interest and an abbreviated curriculum vitae. The statement of interest and CV (together) must not exceed two typed pages total; they may include, but are not limited to the following:

  1. An understanding of the position's responsibilities.
  2. A vision for the Medical Student Section's upcoming year.
  3. Relevant personal experience which would enhance your candidacy for the position.
  4. The abbreviated CV should indicate previous leadership positions.

If the statement of interest and CV exceeds two pages, ISMS MSS reserves the right to choose which two pages will be reproduced for distribution. All statements of interest will be duplicated exactly as submitted and distributed with each ballot.

Nomination Deadline: All nomination forms and accompanying materials must be received at the Illinois State Medical Society Medical Student Section by 4:00 p.m. on Friday, March 3, 2017. They should be emailed to the attention of lindseykrassel@isms.org. A confirmation of receipt will be provided back to the nominee; if you do not receive such a receipt within two business days please contact Ms. Krassel at 312-580-6493.

Balloting: All eligible nominees who have submitted their nominations and accompanying materials by March 3, 2017, will be included on ballots which will then be emailed to all medical and osteopathic student members at their respective schools/campuses. Only those current ISMS MSS members - as of March 3, 2017 - will be eligible to vote. The ISMS MSS retains the right to determine the validity of any vote cast for this purpose. Ballots will be emailed to student members for voting in the end of March.

If you have any questions, please call Lindsey Krassel, ISMS staff at 312-580-6493 or email lindseykrassel@isms.org.

View Full Site View Mobile Site