home > News and Publications > Publications

Staff Certification, Current Software Key to Meaningful Use Compliance

  • PAbanner
  • To meet the provisions of the Stage 2 Meaningful Use incentive program, medical staff who enter computerized patient orders (that is, radiology and laboratory orders, prescriptions, etc.) via EHRs must be certified.

    So even if your staff are seasoned and have thorough on-the-job training, without certification your practice will not be in compliance with this program.  

    Avoid payment penalties in 2015 by beginning the 90-day reporting period no later than July 1.

    How to get your staff certified

    The following organizations are among those providing credentialing for medical staff:

    Click on each link for eligibility requirements and education opportunities to put your staff on the path to certification.

    Not every Stage 1-compliant EHR system will pass Stage 2 muster

    Over recent months, ISMS has heard from numerous practices encountering unexpected hurdles with their Stage 1-vetted systems. Some of these systems are not yet compliant with the programming requirements of Stage 2 Meaningful Use. 

    As a reminder, while Stage 2 attestation has been extended an additional year to 2017, you may be playing catch-up with EHR upgrades during this period. Physicians are encouraged to contact their software vendors right away to determine if their current versions are Stage 2 compliant and, if not, then obtain in writing an action plan from vendors as to when these systems will be ready. Additionally, practices are encouraged to obtain cost estimates for any software upgrades that will be necessary to make the systems Stage 2 compliant. Remember, your reporting window for Stage 2 is only a 90-day period during 2014, and attesting for a period prior to your system being Stage 2 compliant may flag a future audit. 

    ISMS is aware of the AMA's initiatives with the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) to lessen the demands of Stage 2 Meaningful Use for eligible providers, hospitals, and software vendors. Stay tuned for regular updates on this matter.

    As of May 23, 2014, CMS proposed to allow eligible providers the opportunity to continue attesting using the following editions of certified health IT products:

    Please note: The 2014 is the only edition vetted for Stage 2 Meaningful Use.

    Dial-in for a teleconference on Stage 2 Meaningful Use

    Join CMS' call on Stage 2 meaningful use requirements, reporting options and the data submission process on May 29 from 12:30 to 2 p.m. (CST)

    Register today.

View Full Site View Mobile Site